Computers have made it possible for office workers to work remotely instead of working in offices every day. Working from home should be encouraged as it is good for workers and employers. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Advancements in technology in recent times have changed patterns of work in offices. People are of view that working remotely has its significant importance, while some people believe that it has several shortcomings. The following paragraphs will shed light on both perspectives before expressing my opinion. On one hand, there is an opinion that working from house is favourable for both employers and employees because it has a positive influence on work -life balance as well as on utilities saving. Remote job allows people to sit in the comfort of their homes and work in hassle-free environment. It also saves the travel time to offices as well as air and noise pollution caused by transport vehicles. Working from home is also advantageous for organizations as they save cost of infrastructure and electricity bills. On the other hand, remote work has a few shortcomings, for instance, at home, there might be kids and family causing disturbance which can divert the focus of the worker. There can also be several other distractions like Television, mobile, food or unexpected guests. One other drawback which was reported during times of Covid-19 was a higher divorce rate and domestic fights because all over the world remote work protocol was followed. So partners would be together all day, and there was a higher ratio of fights. So, in conclusion, i am of the opinion that there should be flexibility and balance in working from the office and remote work. For example, workers should be allowed to work from home for 5 days in a month or one day in a week. In this way, it will not be hectic for both employer and worker.