Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some poeple think that interviews is not a reliable mthod of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about whether interviews are a valid method to recruit interviewees for employment by large companies. The writer of this essay disagrees with the aforementioned statement due to the interviewers' personal judgement and overall competence. It is vital to understand that every recruiter has different personal judgement so they cannot really give fair evaluations. In other words, employers may hold biased views of some candidates based on their applicants' academic background and either their CVs or even through applying first impressions. As a consequence, this will lead to some hasty judgments which may make an unfair assessment of the candidates' abilities, causing associations to hire unsuitable ones. Another reason worth consideration is that companies will not be able to give an overall competence with the traditional question-and-answer format. This means that some individuals may perform well by giving some good and strong answers, but they might not work well in the work which soon may affect the quality of the company’s staff. At the same time, this method may overlook some qualified qualicants, if they are thrown off by strange or unexpected questions. In conclusion, interviews might not be an efficient way to shortlist candidates due to personal judgement and overall competence. Therefore, companies should combine with some innovative approaches to upgrade this method