In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, thanks to globalization, people have used to buying different items imported from all over the world. Thus, there are a lot of unusual and even exotic products on the store shelves.Some people claim that this is a positive trend while, from my perspective is negative one which leads to the deterioration of the environment. On the one hand, the diversity of products in shops is definitely a big advantage for the population. This is because, people can find any ingredients without problem to cook different dishes and enjoy various flavours given nature. For example, due to the fact that London is multionational city, you can easily find your national dishes, in a blink of an eye, no matter where you are from. Thus, for many immigrants this helps feel like at home and preserve their traditions and cuisine. On the other hand, there are a lot of concerns that transporting food thousands of kilometres we not only worsen the quality of products but also cause a great amount of exhaust emissions. These gases pollute our surroundings and have an influence on climate change. Additionally, this development also has a negative effect on local producers, by rising competitiveness and decreasing demand on season products. Thus, farmers suffer from low income and must close their farms down, which leads to exacerbate the economic situation. In conclusion, although some individuals claim that a wide variety of products in the shops broaden people’s diet and better their lives, I believe that this trend leads to the impairment of environment by increasing greenhouse gas emissions.