Parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Since parents never had the possibility to attend higher education and do not want their children to worry about finances, they pressure them into succeeding. This is a negative development because they project their failed dreams on their children and therefore put a strain on the children ’s mental health. Sixty years ago, it was difficult for parents to receive higher education. Since they only got minimal school education, they had very little chance to get a high paying job. Therefore, they struggled financially throughout their lives, which they do not want for their kids. Furthermore, parents think that nowadays’ youth are not aware of the possibilities they have. Higher education, such as universities, are more easily accessible. It is possible today for women to study medicine for instance, an unthinkable thing in the mid twentieth century. As a result, parents pressure their kids to push further and be grateful for the opportunities. This is a negative development, as parents want their children to succeed for their own benefit and disregard the children ’s wishes. When their kids score a job in a high paying field, the children are able to provide for their parents once they retire. Parents expect the children to repay them for providing for them when they were small. Additionally, they disregard their kid’s wishes by projecting their own failed dreams onto it. For example, they pressure their daughter or son into attending law school, because they never could, even when their child wants to become a teacher. By making the child think, it is only good enough when they follow this educational path, they force it to abandon its dreams. As a result, the pressure and expectations put a strain on their children ’s mental health and they will develop depression or anxiety. In conclusion, parents put pressure onto their children as they do not want them to have the same worries about money because of a lack of education and want them to embrace the possibilities they have nowadays. This trend is a negative development since parents only see themselves in this. They want the children to succeed so they can support them financially, in total disregard of their wishes and mental health.