Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

That people learn about the news from around the world using the internet more than traditional sources is a positive development because articles can be published faster, people can shape their opinion using a vast variety of sources and information is more accesible as well. Using the possibilities of the internet, news can be quicker released. There is no need to wait until the next morning when the newspaper is printed or until the news programme is shown in the evening. Articles can be written right after the situation occured and be put online immediately, by the journalists themselves. This is useful to stay up to date in time critical situations, when information is released every minute. Additionally, if the first-hand information was wrong, the article can be easily altered with a few clicks. Furthermore, people are able to get a better opinion on a matter as they are able to use more sources. They can look for alternatives to the standard, often state-funded, newspaper or TV companies. If a diverse range of sources is available, one can see all angles of a problem. This is especially helpful in countries where media outlets are strictly controlled by the government, such as Turkey or Hungary. Moreover, news articles become more accessible. There is no need to pay for a physical copy of a newspaper anymore as articles are often published for free on the companys' websites, where money is generated through advertisments advertisement instead. This is helpful for people that struggle financially. Further, websites can be altered to people's needs. They can be translated with a click, which is helpful for immigrants that struggle with the country's language. Likewise, for visually imapired or elderly people, it is benefical that the font size can be enlarged and a higher contrast be set. In conclusion, using the internet to receive news is a positive development as new articles can be published faster and journalists can add or delete information later on. As well as for people from states with limited press freedom, it is easier to obtain information, that the government might have restricted. Additionally, individuals can alter the website with the news to their needs, translating it or changing the appearance, making it more accesible for them.