With an increasing number of people eating fast food, which if eating too regularly can cause health issues, some people think that the only solution is to ban it completely. To what extent do you agree?

An outright banning of fast foods is said to be a viable solution when it comes to associated health related issues from consuming it on a regular basis. The writer of this essay is in complete agreement with this scenario since fast food is not just the number one cause of obesity but also how a prohibition would lead to other, more healthier foods being selected by the general public. With a ban on fast foods would come a drastic reduction in the obesity rate worldwide due to people avoiding foods high in cholesterol. To put it simply, most fast foods eaten often are made to be sold at an affordable price, and along with this are the shortcuts used in the producing and preparing stages. Take fried chicken as a clear illustration, which is more often than not cooked in cheap animal fats rather than the more costly healthier oils, leading to the consumers ingesting far more undesirable lipids than the body can handle. As a result, with frequent consumption of this type of food, obesity is not far behind and with it comes blood pressure issues and possibly heart related ones as well. (Thus, a ban on these types of food would inevitably slow or stop the damage being waged on society as a whole.) Another way a ban on fast foods could impact the health of citizens is how it would steer people towards more healthy alternatives for their meals. The problem with fast food is simply the convenience together with the cost, an attractive way to fuel the body with the modern fast pace of life. However, by removing this choice from people ’s diets, it would hopefully encourage most citizens to think again about their food choices. In other words, when it comes time for a meal, people would either have to choose to prepare a meal at home or go to a restaurant where foods are prepared in a healthier manner; therefore, helping everyone to maintain their diets and avoid any health implications resulting from the food they eat. In conclusion, by removing fast foods from people ’s daily diet, it would eliminate a substantial amount of health issues plaguing the world as well as guide people towards eating better foods.