Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate, here some people believe that manufacturers and supermarkets should reduce excessive packaging on their goods. While, some argue that consumers should avoid buying such goods. I believe it is manufacturers ' duty to reduce the amount of packaging done on their goods. This essay will discuss both the side of an argument. The first side of the argument, holds the manufacturers and supermarkets resonsible for reducing extreme amounts of materials used to pack goods, to ensure its good condition. Some companies overcompensate by adding unneccesary protection. For instance, a skincare product is package with plastic cushions to protect a glass bottle. This packaging is unreasonable, the manufacturers could have opt for a plastic bottles to minimise the usage of a plastic cushion, which are nonbiodegrable and elevate waste utlimately, causing harm to our environment. Therefore, companies should be mindful about environment and should package their product in a manner that uses less of nonbiodegradable materials. The second side of the argumnet states that the customers should stop buying excessively packaged goods. The supporters of this argument suggest that if consumers protest and choose not to buy products with extreme packaging they could reduce its sales. The reasoning behind the protest and reduced sales could encourage manufacturers to reduce excessive packaging. Thus, the customers can play a vital role in reducing unneccesary packaging. In my opinion, not every customer would participate in these types of protest and the sales of the product may not decline to extreme low. To bring change, the manufacturers and supermarkets have to take a neccesary steps to implement strategies to reduce excessive packaging on their products. Therefore, companies should minimize excessive packaging by investing on a materials or designs that are environmentally friendly.