Some people think that it is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether growing up in rural areas offers more advantages to children than being raised in urban environments. While both scenarios bring a unique blend of benefits, as well as impacts, I firmly believe that there is not a “right answer” to that debate. In my opinion, it is one of the crucial decisions that parents need to make, having a tremendous impact on the child’s development. On one hand, being raised in rural areas provides a variety of positive benefits. There are several aspects from which we can approach it, but I will highlight some of the most significant benefits. In my opinion, being raised in rural areas provides physical and mental health, more liberty and flexibility, and a stronger sense of belonging. Often, children raised in rural areas have more flexibility and liberty to explore, discover and integrate knowledge directly from being in contact with nature. Also, there is less contamination, noise and they have a more slow-paced life-style impacting their physical and mental health. And, it is more likely that children raised in rural areas have a stronger sense of community and connection because families live together making their bonds stronger and also strengthening their culture. On the other hand, being raised in urban environments also provides a variety of positive benefits. To highlight the most significant ones, being raised in a city brings more opportunities in terms of services, education, diversity, and entertainment. Cities offer better access to high-quality schools, hospitals, cultural and entertainment experiences. Additionally, those children are exposed to a more diverse population fostering a better understanding and empathy (social skills), as well as a broader perspective that leads to easy connections with other people around the world in the future. In conclusion, both offer valuable advantages, and I firmly believe, as pointed out at the beginning, that there is not a “right answer”. It is essential to consider the specific context of the child. Family values, background, culture, economical activity, etc, will play a key part in the decision. The ideal environment depends on what the parents prioritize for their children ’s development.