Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead . To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people opine that the government should not allocate their money to different directions of art either theatre or music, and should rather invest in public amenities and services. I strongly disagree with this point of view, because sphere of art has a lot of benefits towards people ’s well being and their cultural development. On the one hand, nowadays people frequently use different city facilities such as shopping malls or restaurants. Their rising usage makes the critiria regarding social areas stricter, and thus, it becomes harder to sustain all facilities in ideal conditions. Moreover, the demographic rise all around the world leads to the need of opening new public amenities like schools and medical centres and therefore requires more investments from the government. Nevertheless, it is important to increase the range of provided entertaining places with cultural places such as theatres or art galleries. However, due to the fact that individuals rarely use them, they find art investments as a waste of the government resources. On the other hand, investing in art is an extremely useful decision, because it can positively influence the mood of a person and develop the level of creativity, which now is a valuable skill among individuals. Visiting cultural areas like theatre or art galleries also can assist people in finding new hobbies or spheres of interest. Furthermore, people of the same view can meet each other in this places, hence, they also can become a case of finding new mutual relationships. It is a proven fact that communication and hobbies bring a lot of positive emotions, hence investments in such spheres can become an opportunities for the government to increase the overall level of citizens’s emotional state. To conclude, allocating money in the social sphere and services is important, because nowadays’s advancements increase the number of facilities required for sustaining country’s socio-economic state. At the same time, I think that investing in arts is useful in relation of publicity’s general cultural development.