In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is no gainsaying the fact in the contemporary era that buying food from all over the world in local supermarkets is increasingly becoming popular.I think this trend has more advantages than its drawbacks, so it is a positive development. To begin with, consuming international food from local markets has a number of benefits. Firstly, diversity in food supply- people can enjoy different types of foods from different continents in one market. It would not only enhance diversity but also provide the opportunity of tasting food from any region of the world. For example, people in Canada can enjoy the taste of many tropical fruits and vegetables such as mangoes. As the result, consumers can savour and explore different cultures through their diet. Moreover, global food trade can strengthen international relations and economic cooperation. When countries import and export agricultural products, they create mutual dependencies that encourage peaceful relations and economic stability. In addition, it can help developing countries to earn foreign exchange by selling their products to wealthier nations, then why is it not boost their agricultural sector and creates employment opportunities? However, there are some disadvantages of globalization of food trade. Local farmers can be burdened by the lack of consumers for local food because in some cases most of the people prefer to eat imported food and neglect to buy from local sources. Furthermore, lack of fresh food also can be seen nowadays, since produce needs to be refrigerated to export it. In conclusion, although there are some pitfalls of this trend, I believe that this is a positive development because it provides people more opportunities to buy international foods and encourage worldwide trade.