Sugar consumption is too harmful. Some say it is government’s responsibility to limit sugar intake, while others say it’s individual who are responsible. Discuss both views and give you opinion?

The overconsumption of sugar must be controlled to prevent its harmful effects on the body. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of the government to regulate sugar in the diet, owing to its great impact on the general public while, others are of the opinion that people themselves must take the initiative to control their sugar intake. I believe that, irrespective of their independent roles, there must be a collaborative effort from both sides to see good results. On the one hand, the government have the authority to influence public behaviour on a large scale. By enacting laws and polices, they can compel industries and people alike to adopt healtier practices. For instance, upon realizing the cause of obesity was due to sugar intake, the Indian government introduced regulations requiring soft-drink maunfacturers produce zero- sugar alternatives. However, often such policies passed by the government are often not strict enough as it contains loopholes that people find ways to dodge them. On the other hand, individuals bear the ultimate responsibility to manage their diet. Regardless of the incentives or restrictions provided by the authorities, only people can control their habits and resist cravings. Nevertheless, the addictive nature of sugar can make it difficiult for some to reduce their intake and stabilise their blood sugar levels. For instance, Coca-cola contains significantly more sugar than any other fizzy drinks, and some people who consume it regularly might find it difficult to eliminate them from their routine. Therefore, if the government were to introduce strict laws, it could force individuals to bring a change, fostering a collaborative approach. In conclusion, while the government wields the power to regulate the sugar contents in individuals ' diets by passing laws, others argue that individuals must take charge of their own sugar consumption. Ultimately, only if stricter law could be implemented and the people were to comply with them, the intended outcomes are far more likely to be achieved.