The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With the growth in gas and oil demands, humankind needs to find a way to answer to these demands. eventhough exploring the remote areas can be beneficial but it comes with it's own negativities. First of all, exploitation of remote areas can be helpful and beneficial towards the people and the government. exploring untoched lands reqiuers require many resources, From different machines to people doing the labor. SO, it will be good for socity and economy by creating jobs and increasing the government revenue. ALso, the increase in governments revenue can lead to advancements in technology since they can give more money towards reasearches research. Although it sounds good, this exploration has some serious downsides. First and the most obvious one is the pollution that it will cause. the machinary that they use in order to look for oil and gas sources makes tons of CO2 which leads to air pollution. while serching the remote areas they need to use the water resources nearby such as lakes and waterfalls to take shower or wash their hands which can pollute these water resources. another main concern is the defrosting that comes after the exploitation. if the said new source was found they need to make an extraction station and in order to do that they need to cut the trees and dig large wholes in the ground. this will put the ecosystem and the animals nearby in a danger that is not worth the risk. in conclusion, advancements in technology and increase governments revenue is seems amazing but the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. in my view the benefits is not worth the damage it'll cause to the ecosystem and animals habitats.