Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether it is more vital for university students to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects or to give all their time and attention to pursue a qualification. In my opinion, although studying and pursuing a qualification is important for university students, I believe that learning other subjects to supplement their main subjects or majors is more important. On the one hand, there are many people who believe that it is more important for university students to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. This may stem from the fact that most university students are approximately 18 to 22 years old, which is a period in life when it is urgent to develop a qualification to prepare for participation in the labor force. As a result, it is argued that students focus on abstract subjects such as politics, religion, and philosophies are commonly considered a waste of time and effort. However, in my opinion, I totally disagree with this perspective and think that it is vital for university students to acquire a broad field of knowledge that enables them to strengthen and supplement their main subjects or majors, thereby helping them be well-prepared before entering the workforce. This is particularly true in developing nations like Vietnam, where generalists are often sought after by employers who value people who can multitask. On the other hand, in my opinion, I strongly believe that university students should learn not only main subjects but also other subjects which can be necessary for their main subjects or majors. Armed with these additional subjects, university students can acquire a variety of skills and knowledge which enable them to support and supplement their majors. For example, many of my friends said to me that their main major or profession is human resource management, and they decided to learn a variety of soft skills such as presentation, persuasion, psychology, etc. As a result, later on, it turns out that these skills contribute significantly to their career success when they can grasp customer psychology to have a better insight as well as work and communicate effectively within a team. In conclusion, although studying and paying attention to pursuing a qualification is important for university students, I strongly believe that it is more vital for students to learn other subjects to supplement their major.