As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The technological era has seen many advancements, of which the internet has been popular amongst many. Social media and online press organisations have also become more relevant. This has meant that more traditional news outlets like newspapers have become less popular. I wholeheartedly agree with this sentiment because news websites are easier to access and provide more up to date information on worldwide events. In contrast, newspapers and magazines have to be printed earlier in the morning, hence they could miss out on events that happen later in the day. To begin with, newspapers have been a source of reliable news for the past couple years. Proponents of it argue that information propogated online may be misleading and even completely false. They refer to the many false news articles and fake videos uploaded as an evidence against its infallibility. However, the internet houses a plethora of reliable news institutes that only post fact-checked information. In addition to this, information on the internet can be quickly falsified and debunked, whereas, physical newspapers are in circulation until the next copy is printed. This may lead to false news being reported and consumed for a whole day before being corrected. Many cite that newspapers have become a habitual part of their daily routine. They argue that it is easier to stay focused when one reads a newspaper compared to a screen that can be very distracting. I put forth that for many individuals reading a physical newspaper is not a viable option due to their busy schedules. Online articles are easily accessible on almost all smartphones in almost all settings, whether it is on the way to work or at the gym. Furthermore, online articles will keep people up to date on global events that interest them. In contrast, many newspaper providers will either bring local news or fill the paper with irrelevant articles. This makes it harder for the average reader to be intrigued by its content, thus causing a decline in its popularity. In summary, newspaper have been a vital step in dispersing news to the masses at a large scale. However, due to the nature of the internet being easily accessible and tailored to each reader's interests, it has risen in popularity. People expect updates at a quicker rate than before, which the preprinted press cannot keep up with.