Some people think it is more important to provide parks and sports facilities than to provide shopping centers in these new town for people to spend their free time. To what extent doo you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether new towns should prioritize parks and sports facilities instead of shopping centers. This essay agrees that creating more green spaces is a better option as it promotes physical well-being and supports environmental sustainability. Many towns and cities are building more shopping centers and entertainment facilities nowadays, rather than providing more green areas, such as parks and fitness facilities, for their citizens. By building more centers, people have no choice but to visit malls, stay in closed spaces, and spend unnecessary money and time. For example, it can be observed that many people in Istanbul are more likely to go to shopping centers due to a lack of picnic areas, parks, and fitness centers. Building more parks and sports centers for leisure activities in new towns can also contribute to environmental protection by planting more green areas and trees instead of deforestation for the construction of malls. People, especially children, can enjoy parks and their childhood while spending time in the fresh air, and parks can also benefit citizens who are struggling with obesity or cardiovascular problems by exercising in sports facilities or simply walking in the parks. Cities like Paris or Rome have numerous green parks for their citizens, and the malls are away from the city center; therefore, many people have the chance to visit, walk, and enjoy parks. In conclusion, public parks and sports facilities play a crucial role in promoting health, fitness, and environmental sustainability. Providing these areas not only benefits people but also helps with climate change, since shopping centers can be harmful to the environment. Authorities should consider having more spaces for green areas, parks, and sports centers for their citizens’ long-term healthcare and environmental impact.