Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays the tendency can be noticed that children spend more and more free time using their smartphones. Although this trend seems to fit the current era of technologies, in my opinion, this is rather negative development because children learn to use devices instead of communicating and playing with other children. First of all, over-using smartphones or tablets by the youngest children can negatively affect the development of their personality. While spending hours every day on their gadgets, they do not explore themselves, their abilities and interests. For example, they do not learn drawing or cycling as children traditionally do, so they are most likely to become indifferent to real life experiences and joy. They just will not know that virtual reality is not the only thing where they can basically exist and express themselves. Secondly, children who spend all their childhood on their devices skip one of the most significant stages of growing up: they do not explore the world which surrounds them so they will struggle with adaptation to independence of adult life when the time comes. Moreover, these children avoid chatting with their peers or even their parents, so they do not develop their emotional intelligence. This aspect may cause the strongest mental diseases in their future because they will not understand their own emotions as well and so they will be unable to help or support themself. For example, one of such children of the kind of “digital natives” will suffer from a permanent anxiety and will be scared even more due to the fact that he or she has no idea what and why is happening to them. Nevertheless, spending a lot of time on smartphones by children does have some positive aspects, too. This tendency makes children digital literate from the very beginning of their user experience. Moreover, some especially curious children may profit from the endless amount of information stored in the Internet. For example, instead of asking their parents why the sky is blue, they have access to the more relevant and clear answer online. In conclusion, I strongly believe that children should not spend as much time on their smartphones as the majority of them do now. Despite the fact that digital skills may be lively in their future, this “digital childhood” forms the wrong world perception. And the harm caused by it overweighs its benefit.