Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on society. Others, however, deny that these factors have any significant influence on people’s behaviour. What is your opinion on that issue?

There is ongoing debate about whether violence on TV and video games has a negative impact on the community. While some think that this type of content has a dangerous effect on the members of society, others argue that this does not have any impact on individuals ' behaviour. This essay believes that this type of content has a huge influence on people, especially young ones. It is argued by some individuals that television and video games that contain violent content have a damaging effect on the community. In other words, what people watch today on TV such as TV shows or movies and play computer games that have violent scenes may start to normalise in the long-term, which results in an increase in the number of violent crimes and encourages violent behaviour among teenagers. Thus, I agree with this view because the human mind tends to copy what it sees frequently without self-awareness. For example, research in the United States stated that long exposure to violent computer games increases violent behaviour in teens by 50%. However, others argue that these factors do not have any big influence on how individuals behave in real life. That is to say, watching violent content solely can not affect people's minds or behaviour other triggers have to contribute to result in violent behaviour. I completely disagree with this view because watching this content without stimulating people's emotions is quite impossible. For instance, There is a study that involved 76 males and females watching violent content for a week, which presented that 55 out of 76 people showed an increase in anger, aggressive behaviours, and aggressive thoughts and a decrease in empathy. In conclusion, despite that some individuals think that violent content in media and computer games does not affect how individuals behave in the community, I believe that this actually has more impact than we know on people's minds.