As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

The debate on happiness with working life has been widely addressed. Some argue that being content with a career is an essential part of a person’s overall health as they would be working for most of their life. Being happy with one’s job comprises various elements, such as economic and professional growth. For example, the amount an individual is being paid is important as money is needed for survival. Basic necessities such as food and transport all require payment, and workers may also need to support their families, and provide for additional needs like shelter and education. Thus, without enough funds, employees are unable to afford not just their livelihood, but household expenses as well. This then leads to the increase in stress over earning money, which therefore takes a toll on mental and physical health. Therefore, an appropriate pay is a must. Furthermore, careers with higher chances of promotions and progression increases motivation. In the workforce, employees that take the chance to enhance their skills, knowledge and experience should be rewarded with advancements in their job as this acknowledges their hard work, determination and commitment to their profession. While workers can expect certain benefits at work, it is not possible to be completely satisfied with their occupation. Many wish for an abundance in wealth and leisure without any sacrifices, but in many cases, this is simply not achievable. For instance, foreign workers choose to migrate to a more developed country in hopes of better job opportunities and pay. However, this is at the expense of spending time with family or having excess time off. Similarly, some work long hours everyday and even overtime to generate more income, resulting in little to no time to relax. There is a limited amount of time everyday, and one can only do so much. Hence, not all needs from working adults can be fulfilled. In conclusion, I agree that selecting jobs that consist of factors which allow for satisfaction is important as we spend a significant portion of our lives in that vocation. However, it is important to acknowledge keeping our expectations of how our lives should be practical, and sometimes, we have to give up certain wishes to achieve other goals.