In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

There is no denying the fact that in this modern world, many workers tend to spend long hours working, which has raised considerable debates for this phenomenon. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons and give my opinion. To begin with, I believe that long time spent working has negative aspects on people's life. Firstly, from private companies and authorities perspectives, they are minimizing the number of employees which has increased the labour on workers and in order to cover that amount of tasks they need to stay for a longer duration at their institution. Another point to consider, as cost of living has significantly increased in the contemporary life, many individuals have to work more as they will be paid for the overtime. For example, the cost to rent an apartment in the middle of London is more than 1000 pound per month and people are searching for solutions to increase their income. In terms of how this issue affecting our population, part of the society are not spending enough time with their families. In other words, thay stay at work for almost 12 hours and get back home tired and exhuasted which leeds them to sleep because they have duty on the next day. Moreover, as I said in the first point, the huge amount of tasks impacts negatively on the employee's quality of life which acts as a stressful factor. In conclusion, this phenomenon is raising globally and governments may set rules and regulation to this matter in order to enhance our lives.