​​Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In recent years, the debate between the positive and negative effects of competition in schools has been widely discussed. Some believe that over-competitiveness is bad for students, while other argue that allowing students to compete with other another can motivate them to do better. I believe that competition between people can enable to strive for better results, but unmanaged competeting can lead to stress and have the opposite effect. On the one hand, constantly surrounded by overachieving schoolmates can affect one's self-esteem. For instance, always being around people who achieve much better academic results can lead to comparisons and feelings of failure. Students that are unable to excel academically in a result-driven society will eventually feel that they are not good enough, thereby developing a low self-esteem and a lack of confidence. On the other hand, developing the ambition to strive for at a young age more can positively affect an individual in their future career. For example, job opportunities are limited and requirements are high, and only those who have the drive and determination to work towards that goal will have a higher chance of succeeding in life. Working hard becomes a habit ingrained into young children, and this skill can assist them in any difficult situations. In my view, competition between children can stimulate growth as they will push each other to attain better results by all means necessary. They will be able to think critically on their own and further challenge themselves to solve problems. This can aid in the growth of not just academic success, but also professional advancements in the future. However, there should be a limit as to how much to push a student. Certain students may not be able to handle such stressful environments, and the idea to create friendly competition will backfire, resulting in a negative outcome. Therefore, to have the intended effect, schools should not force students to strive against one another, but naturally allow students to find similar individuals who can motivate one another at their own pace. In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks in cultivating rivalry in institutions, but must be done in moderation, as the result of pressure can be detrimental to an adolescent's mental well-being.