Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages

Individuals who travel by public transportation suggests that government should restrict the use of private transports such as cars and bikes on the motorways once in a month. This approach owes benefits to the society by reducing the level of pollution and reduced traffic for general public. However, there are certain negative effects of this opinion leading to disturbance in the schedules for the people who rely on personal cars to migrate and also causing economic disadvantage for the businesses. To commence with, limiting the use of cars on the roads for certain period of time will balance the pollution levels of the environment in cities. For instance, in the capital of India, Delhi, major proportion of air pollution is caused by numerous cars that people drive. If private cars will stop for a day, there will be a balance in the excess pollution in the atmosphere. Moreover, more cars means more traffic. If there will be a car free day, there will be limited amount of vehicles that will operate on the roads, consequently, leading to reduction in traffic and easy access to public tranports such as buses. On the other hand, there are certain downfalls of the implication for the car users and the economy as well. Firstly, nowadays, people prefer convenience over cost. Many employers and employess prefer to travel by their own vehicle because of convenience and also because of inaccessablility to public transports. Hence, if private cars will be restricted for a day, this will impact their operations significantly. Secondly, it is obvious that most of the cars operate with fuel. The petrol stations earn a huge amount of profit on a daily basis through sale of petrol and diesel. If cars will not be permitted to used on roads, it will definitely impact the business of retailers. Hence, the gross national income as well. In conclusion, every coin has two sides. Though, there are pros of restricting the use of cars as it will enhance the quality of the environment by reduced traffic and pollution. In contrast, there are detrimental effects of this approach as it will create inconvenience for the car users and the economy of industries.