Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children? (Band 8,5)

In recent times, computer games have become more immersive than ever and owning a computer has become widely popular. Even though video games allow children to learn different concepts and improve their cognitive development, they are also at risk of being addicted to these games. On the one hand, digital games provide children the opportunity to learn different concepts, apart from traditional learning. Kids can learn a wide range of different topics, such as problem-solving, teamwork, etc. Playing video games is not only fun, but it assists them in their mental development as well. For example, a recent study explained how surgeons in Newyork General Hospital play video games to improve their concentration, multitasking skills and ability to work under pressure. On the other hand, the purpose of these games is generally entertainment. They are designed in a way so as to compel the players to spend as much time playing as possible. Consequently, young ones spend far more time than is recommended and in some cases become addicted to this virtual world. This can lead them to harbour feelings of isolation and social anxiety, choosing to stay indoors when they should rather be spending time outside. To exemplify, a survey conducted by Blizzard Studios showed that 23% of children between the ages of 10 and 15 are at a higher risk of suffering from social anxiety due to spending more time playing games indoors. In conclusion, technological advancements have lowered the cost of buying computers and video games. This has made them vastly more popular among the young folk, helping them in developing their mental capacities. However, if a balance can be created, young ones can be shielded from the harmful effects of gaming addiction.