To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Some individuals think that studying history is not vital today in our developing world. However, I opine that learning the past is crucial for better understanding of the present, and analyzing consequences of actions that could be done in the modern society regarding politics and social behavior. To begin with, studying the past provides opportunities to understand issues that are relevant today. History provides information about both problems and effects, thus, in some relation, these could help to predict possible influence. In addition, there were plenty of mistakes and ways that lead to conflicts and chaos in the past such as wars and revolutions. Investigating them could develop critical thinking skills through examining past struggles, and the ability to assess situations from different angles. Moreover, past events could assist people in understanding behavior of some people of a different culture or way of thinking. As a result, this would decrease the number of conflicts and provide more tolerant society. If children are not taught history, their behavior could affect the general public and the social state of the future world. Actions that used to happen in the past because of human factors like greed and hypocrisy could turn into the reality again in the future and will have a devastating effect on the world state and peace. Furthermore, the level of respect and cultural awareness among social groups could decrease, because of absence of knowledge regarding part issues of racism, nationalism and inequality in general. Eventually, this may increase the level of crime and conflicts among individuals. In conclusion, the basic knowledge of history is essential for people, due to the fact that it provides better understanding of actions and situations. Although it might seem irrelevant, studying the past could also assist in developing critical thinking and analyzing skills, which are crucial today in order to decrease the number of conflicts in the society.