Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

In science, we have the social and ethical problem concerning experimentations on animals. Although the animal models are not the best models displaying real situation in human body, it looks like we have a lack of any working alternatives. This essay will discuss why science continues to conduct inhuman researches and if there are any options to avoid violence in terms of animals. The animal models are a traditional method of researching new substances and medicines to recognize any side effects before testing on humans. But at the same time it is not an ideal model because of differences between animals and human beings. If something safe for mauses it does not mean that it will be safe for people in some case. For example, the talidomid tragedy caused to more than 10 000 cases of congenital deformity because the previous experimentation on mauses causes males showed that it is safe. So we do not fully rely on traditional models and should look for better options. Nowadays, there are few alternatives. Currently, computer programs which are able to repeat virtually a lot of processes existing inside a human body can replace animals in some cases. In addition, cell cultures are used to research how drugs can affect on particular tissues in people. For instance, cosmetic companies may use cell cultures of human skin instead of dropping their product into rabbit's eyes as they did it before. But unfortunately both of this modern methods can not fully replace testing on living organisms because a body is significantly more complicated. To sum up, animal experiments is the gold standard of a method of science testing due to similarity to human body. Although not all process inside animal organisms are as the same as people, the present alternatives can not fully displace it.