Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, globalisation has led to a growth in migration. It is believed by many that residing in a foreign nation in which an individual has to speak the native language can lead to serious practical as well as social issues due to communication barriers. I agree with this notion completely and I will discuss points in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, not being able to fluently speak the native language of the particular nation can lead to communication problems and barriers which contributes to an individual's points being unclear due to which there can be significant rise in issue at the workplace. It can further lead to the person having difficulty understanding the native speakers thereby resulting in cross cultural barriers and loneliness which further deteriorates mental well being. Moreover, the individual faces plenty of hardships in day to day life, if they cannot read or understand the commonly used language which can lead to difficult situations in a foreign land where most of the sign boards and product names are written in the native tongue. Several issues arise while travelling, buying groceries, reading menus, and traffic signs, eventually, disrupting the normalises in everyday life. However, there are several steps to overcome this problem. Primarily, due to advancements in technology, there are alot of translators, and courses to learn the language easily at home and at affordable rates. Furthermore, due to English being the universal language, most people already know and use English at work and in daily life which can help in some early days. Additionally, a plethora of locals are also very enthusiastic to assist foreigners and make them feel comfortable and at ease while talking to them. To conclude, according to me a person should have some basic knowledge about the language of the country they are migrating to, to aid in their everyday routine, however a person cannot avoid some of the practical and social problems as they are inevitable.