ITELS Model Answer: Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the comtemporary world, there has been a rapid shift towards consumerism. Domainance of marketing famous consumer products are reflected by the high sales, not by the actual wants of the society in which they are sold. I fully agree to this notion, becuase of the materislistic world.  One of the key factors of this is, the advancements in technology. Advertisments have gotten very easy to display and reach every member of the society because of electronics such as phones, laptops and televisions. The various kinds of advertisements, for instance, posters, videos and billboards, have celebrities and famous people using or gifting the product, which compels their followers and fans to buy the same goods as they want to use the same item as their favourite. Eventually, this contributes to surge in the sales of the particular consumer good. Furthermore, the companies pay influencers on social media to market their products and rate them positively due to which more and more buyers purchase the goods however, not because of urgent need but because of looks or convenience. Additionally, online product's websites, keeps sending emails of newly launched products to the consumers and notifing them of the products in their cart. When the an Choose an article the an show examples individual open their website, they show several products on the home page, forcing the buyer to take a look before moving forward to buy their necessities. These sites also provide huge discounts and free items with products which pressurises the person to buy it as well. Consequently, this creates a society filled with unnecessary products which gets thrown out by the person and into the waste lands, which worsen the climate change. To conclude, this shift towards materialistic society is a pressing issue which needs to be delt with caution. It is true that advertising plays a significant role in shaping consumer behavior and boosting the sales of popular goods, it often does so by creating artificial desires rather than addressing genuine societal needs.