Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, there has been a rapid shift towards consumerism. Dominance of marketing famous consumer products is reflected by the high sales, not by the actual wants of the society in which they are sold. I fully agree with this notion, because of the materialistic world.  One of the key factors of this is, the advancements in technology. Advertisements have gotten very easy to display and reach every member of society because of electronics such as phones, laptops and televisions. The various kinds of advertisements, for instance, posters, videos and billboards, have celebrities and famous people using or gifting the product, which compels their followers and fans to buy the same goods as they want to use the same item as their favourite. Eventually, this contributes to a surge in the sales of particular consumer goods. Furthermore, the companies pay influencers on social media to market their products and rate them positively due to which more and more buyers purchase the goods however, not because of urgent need but because of looks or convenience. Additionally, online products websites keep sending emails of newly launched products to the consumers and notifying them of the products in their cart. When an individual opens their website, they show several products on the home page, forcing the buyer to take a look before moving forward to buy their necessities. These sites also provide huge discounts and free items with products which pressuris the person to buy them as well. Consequently, this creates a society filled with unnecessary products which get thrown out by the person and into the wastelands, which worsens climate change. To conclude, this shift towards materialistic society is a pressing issue which needs to be dealt with caution. It is true that advertising plays a significant role in shaping consumer behavior and boosting the sales of popular goods, it often does so by creating artificial desires rather than addressing genuine societal needs.