These days, people often work in more than one job and change careers several times during their lives. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is very common for individuals to shift from one profession to another during their lives. There are a plethora of pros for this trend, which include good earnings, knowledge enhancement, and so on. It also has several cons, such as a focus shuffle and a lack of time for themselves and their family. To begin, the first and foremost advantage of changing occupations or working more than one job is good income. To explain it, if people do a little work at the same time, it will not only help them to earn better but also nurture their talents and skills, which help individuals to recognize their interest and capability for choosing the right line of work. For example, before coming to Canada, I was working as a teacher in India; However, in Canada, I serve in an administrative capacity, cashier, pharmacy assistant and many more roles, and at last, I realised my favourite is administration role and now I want to study more in this field. So, experience in separate fields can make a person eligible to handle multiple tasks and decide which role is suitable to pursue. Moving towards the disadvantages of the trend, the major one is a lack of time for family. To clarify, more jobs require extra time, focus, and hard work, which makes the masses busy, causing a difference between family and a sense of loneliness; as a result, some individuals become victims of mental illness, and most importantly in the important stage of life when they are older and need support than no one can take care about them due to shortage of time and their relations with family. For instance, a survey conducted in Japan showed that parents in America live in old care homes because their children do not want to live with them, which is a result of weak family bonding and a lack of time spent with each other when they were kids, as their parents had to go to task. To conclude, although living an expensive lifestyle may require holding multiple jobs, I believe that the side effects, such as insufficient time for family, outweigh the benefits. I think a balanced approach is the best solution. Individuals should focus on their work, but not forget the importance of family.