In countries all over the world, the volume of road traffic is increasing at a faster rate than new roads are built. What are the causes of this problem? What are some potential solutions?

Traffic congestion is becoming a significant global crisis. It is concerning that the number of vehicles is doubling at a faster rate than new roads are being constructed. This essay elucidates the reasons for it, such as overpopulation and low use of public transport. Also, the possible solutions, the advanced urban planning and a better transportation system, can address the problems. The first cause of the increasing road traffic is the growth of population in megacities or urban areas. More people prefer their vehicles, and big families buy cars for convenience. For example, in the big cities, there are a number of universities, schools, hospitals, and industries. It naturally leads to more vehicles on the road because people prefer private cars and bikes rather than sharing vehicles. The second reason is poor public transportation services. In a busy nation, public transportation always runs behind schedule, so people choose to drive instead, which adds more congestion to the route. A solution that is proven effective is the taxi sharing system. In that, more than 2 or 3 people have to share a car for a similar location, which is more feasible and cheaper than personal cars. For instance, in developed countries such as the USA and the UK, this scheme has started to reduce traffic jams and cost-effective solution for all citizens. Another solution is well-developed and reliable public transportation facilities. The introduction of cheaper bus and train services can attract people to use them instead of their vehicles. For example, rates of fossil fuels are increasing rapidly. If the government provides on-time public transport at lower rates, then it encourages people to use it. To conclude, the major urban problem of traffic congestion is caused by excessive private vehicles on the road, and less use of public vehicles can be alleviated by the introduction of the taxi-sharing scheme and an advanced public transportation system. I would certainly use one if was introduce in my area.