Some people believe that universities should prepare students with the knowledge and skills they need for work. Others argue that universities are meant to provide access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of how useful the course may be to employers. In your opinion, what should be a university’s main function? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views about the main purposes of universities. While supporters of this statement share the view that universities have accountability to prepare their students for a job, others are opposed to such a belief. In my belief, this statement is beneficial and might bring positive impacts to students. The university's main purpose is to educate students according to their major. Every department has its own courses, so students across departments have different knowledge and skills. Usually, campus also gives a lot of platforms for students to shape their interests. For example, many universities have their own clubs or committees to improve their students skills. In my university, there are many extracurricular activities that students can freely join and participate in, also there are a lot of students committees that focus on different things customized to their students wants. In short, it is recommended for universities to provide access for learners to hone their abilities. Post-graduate often hard for some students. Therefore, universities should help students prepare for those times. Normally, each major has different method to prepare students for work. For example, in my experience, my major has programs that allow students to participate. These programs allow students to grasp the procedure to apply for work. The procedure includes tips and tricks for all of the steps job selection process that companies normally do. Those programs that are held on campus will surely help students to prepare after graduate. To summarize, in my opinion, universities should help students prepare for work before graduation. This will make the student more confident to apply for work.