People use the Internet for medical advice and to do medical check ups rather than directly meeting with doctors in an office. Why are they using the Internet for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary era, the internet and technology are serving most of the purposes of mankind in the healthcare system which involves medical advice and checkups. This trend reduces the number of people who consult with doctors in person. There are multifaceted rationales behind preferring online consultations over face-to-face appointments. I believe this is a negative trend and the upcoming paragraphs will discuss the reasons for online preference and the cons of the mentioned approach. To commence with, there are a plethora of benefits that online services provide such as convenience and reduced time of commutation. To elaborate, patients nowadays book doctors and other healthcare professionals online because it provides them the opportunity to talk with the professional at any place. This further eliminates the travelling time involved in reaching the hospitals and medical centres which are sometimes far away from the residents. For instance, a person living in a regional area finds it difficult to cover long distances to seek professional advice from general practitioners, so they opt for booking online consultations with doctors to avoid the inconvenience involved in travelling to far locations. According to my perspective, there are more benefits to seeking health services in offices and medical centres because there are some procedures and checkups such as evaluating blood pressure, weight and height, which can be accessed only if the service seeker visits a doctor in person. Moreover, the issues and problems which an individual can discuss with the doctor in person cannot be expressed in the same way on online platforms. Therefore, attending the professionals at the settings is more relevant. To conclude, there are advantages of receiving online advice in terms of the convenience it offers but I think that face-to-face appointments are more productive than online ones as the former provides an opportunity to discuss openly without any hurry and helps build bonds.