Some people believe that healthcare should be free for everyone, while others think individuals should pay for their medical costs. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Modern science and technological advancement blessed healthcare, once lethal diseases are now treatable. World class healthcare is one of biggest the biggest victory of today’s era but, the question question is should it be free for the public?,or should they pay for it? This essay should throw light on both this aspects. To start with, healthcare system is an expensive endeavour. There is set up cost for everything. It requires a large budget to provide facilities and adequate staffing. Not having enough budget leads to compromise in proper healthcare. It is a well known fact that almost every hospital in Alberta have shortage of nurses, most of the nurses are moving to different provinces and facing burnouts. If everyone pays for their own healthcare the burden on the staff and government will be lesser which will reduce the compromised patient care and increase the efficiency of the system. On the other hand, healthcare is basic necessity and it is inhumane to deny healthcare to someone based on lack of funds. There are many underprivileged people who need access to healthcare and won’t make it, if they have to pay for it. Many elderly and foster kids are living healthy lives because of free healthcare in Canada. Free healthcare has improved everyone’s life by increasing herd immunity. Free healthcare is needed to improve nation’s overall health. In conclusion, while there is a visible need for free healthcare it should not push the healthcare staff towards burnouts given the risks they work with during their everyday tasks. Government should work in collaboration with public to introduce semi funded system, where patient pays some portion and the other half should be covered by the government.