Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

A group of people believe that the amount of recycled waste is not considerable. These individuals claim that the only solution to increase that amount is by sanctioning laws by governments in order for people to recyle more waste. I vehemently agree due to the long-term cultural benefits and its potential to force everyone to take part in this important action. One of the main reasons why laws are important to make people recycle more is their long-term effect on communities' habits. When individuals used to recycle more over time, they unconsciously pass this beneficial habit to their next generations. Thus, it becomes a part of a society's culture. When something important like recycling becomes a law and people are forced to do it, like driving rules for example, over time because people do not want to become punished in some way, they gradually start to do it by nature and not doing it will be something unsatisfactory. Another reason is that sometimes the only way to encourage the majority of the population to take part in an important action is by sanctioning laws. Many individuals are not interested in getting to know about the importance of an action like recycling since they might consider it as an unnecessary job. Moreover, a simple way to attract their attention is by making recycling a law to enforce them do it whether they like it or not. Since sparing more time and putting more efforts into recycling process may worth it for the majority of people rather than paying penalties, it can increase the recycling process in a country. In conclusion, due to the long-term cultural benefits of making recycling obligatory in a country and also enforcing unhappy citizens who do not want to pay penalties because of not obeying the law, making recycling a rule could potentially increase its process in a country.