In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycle as the mean means of transport is reducing, even though it is beneficial, both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference, how can people be in courage to use bicycles

All the cycling is fruitful for individuals, physical health and environment, yet the usage of bikes as mean transport is reducing day by day in many countries. The advancement of technology in automobiles and difficulties to access long distances by bicycles are the main reasons of this tendency. The public can be dedicated to cycles by governments by implementing new plans for bike users and addressing health benefits gained by cycling. The primary reasons why there is decrease in use of bicycles by people is that the technological advancements in motor vehicles fascinates individuals to buy cars for travelling purposes, making them less interested in riding bicycles. By using modern vehicles, person can reach his destination in very less time, leaving much of the time left to be used productively. Furthermore, commuting long distances by bicycle is nearly impossible due to which working individuals choose alternative means of transport to access their workplace. Riding a bike requires large amount of energy which in return would affect users work output in performing tasks whereas task performance of car travellers remains unaffected because they travel quickly without using much of their energy. A viable measure to motivate individuals to use bicycles is that governing bodies must introduce rewarding programmes for cyclists in order to attract new riders. In addition to this, administration must take initiative to set limit on distance travelled by motor vehicles, the exceeding distance must result in imposition of fines which will promote usage of bikes for local use. The another step must be taken on individual basis, analysing the health benefits of riding bicycle. Presently, workers have to sit for long hours in front of computers. Due to professional lifestyle, physical well-being is lagging behind which can be enhances by use of bikes. Employers must also introduce cycling plans for the employees to maintain healthy life. In conclusion, the major causes of decreasing trend of bicycle use are development of technical approaches in the field of automobiles and difficult accessibility of long distances by bikes which can be tackled by the implementation of new policies for cycling by law-makers and personal acknowledgement of health benefits.