The best way to solve world’s traffic and environmental problems is increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

There is an ongoing debate about whether governments should rise the cost of fuel to mitigate environmental issues or not. In reality, some countries already implemented similar policies. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I strongly support this initiative. To begin with, we need to consider from an economic perspective by focusing on the principle of supply and demand. Specifically, in some economic theories, it has been proved that if the prices of specific products increased, the total demand for those products would decrease. This information indicates the effectiveness of this policy because if consumers perceived higher costs, the total fuel consumption would decrease, leading to less environmental burdens. In fact, the Japanese government has kept increasing taxes on petroleum over the two decades, and the amount of carbon emissions plummeted on a nationalwide scale. At the same time, the number of cars in this nation significantly decreased, resolving heavy traffic. Therefore, increasing fuel prices is one of the most effective policy to mitigate environmental and traffic issues. Nonetheless, as some people argue, even if fuel prices surge, if private companies keep producing goods, the entire effect of this governmental action will be slight. Certainly, private businesses usually emit a large proportion of the total carbon emission. Moreover, as they propose, the effectiveness of this policy will be minimal in countries where citizens are less likely to possess cars. However, it is also true that the majority of people in developed countries own private transport, and they emit a significant amount of emissions and cause traffic difficulties. Therefore, even if we cannot decrease the consumption of ordinary products and the effectiveness of this policy is marginal in some developing countries, higher fuel costs in rich countries will be effective in reducing the entire emission and mitigating heavy traffic. In other words, it can be said that the existence of this policy is better than nothing in the currend world where global warming causes serious environmental problems. In conclusion, whereas the effectiveness of higher fuel prices would depend on several features of each nation, it is at least guaranteed in developed countries. For this reason, I completely agree with the statement that this policy is meaningful in resolving traffic and environmental issues.