People spend less time at home than they used to. What are the reasons for this change and what are effects on society and individuals.

Nowadays most people are eager to hang out with friends or simply to spend time out of home. In my opinion, this is mostly due to the high cost of houses and the consequent reduction of space to host guests at home. For that reason, there are significant transformation in the way people spend time and socialize, causing also crucial issues for public administrators on managing public spaces. In my opinion, the rise of the houses' price is the main reason why people choose to spend time out, for instance going at the restaurant, instead of dining at home. Although in the rural areas the prices are still affordable, in the urban contexts houses are increasingly expensive and families are likely to buy smaller apartments than before. For instance, the cost of houses in Milan has increased of 30% in just five years. In comparison, workers earns only 8% more. Recent research form ISTAT, the Italian Institute for Research, shows that in the same period a reduction of 25% in the size of the houses bought by families has occurred. The main consequence of this process is that people meet out, for instance going to the restaurant to celebrate happenings or just meeting in public spaces. On the one hand, this represents a positive aspect as public spaces become crowded of people. In addition restaurants, shopping centres and other commercial activities thrive. On the other hand, there is an evident drawback for the families, due to the cost of this lifestyle. In particular, people belonging to lower classes might not have enough money, therefore they often occupies public spaces like parks, treating them as their personal space and leaving them in bad condition, dirty and ruined. In conclusion, I think that the phenomenon to spend time out of home is not necessarily spontaneous but it is mainly related to the lack of room at home. This drives positve consequences as well as crucial issues, which should be better managed by public administrations to preserve public open spaces, thus allowing the whole community to benefit from them.