Some believe hosting major international sporting events will bring benefits to the country. Others believe it might bring disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

It is widely believed that hosting major international sporting events will bring more benefits than drawbacks. Some strongly contend that the disadvantages outweigh the potential advantages it brings. This essay will explain both viewpoints while advocating for hosting global sporting tournaments. First and foremost, international sporting events make a significant impact on a nations economy. Notably, it generates worldwide attraction from across the globe, which increases tourism, national identity and economic revenue. For example, South Africa hosted the 2010 FIFA World Cup, which created a positive impact on the nation's economy as thousands travelled to watch. This led to visitors paying for hotels, public transport, resturants and match seats, significantly bolstering South Africa's economy as it provided job opportunities in hospitality, contruction and security sectors. Moreover, hosting events leads to improved infrastructure, roads, airports and public transport systems. For example, Brazil built a new metro system in preparation for the Olympics. In contrast, criminals exploit such events to target vulnerable people. For instance, pocket thieves thrive in densley populated areas such as football stadiums. Studies have shown an alarming surge of theft-related incidences, resulting in tourists having a negative experience. Consequently, travellers become deterred from visiting countries with a known reputation for crime. For example, during the FIFA World Cup in South Africa, crime rates skyrocketed. Despite efforts to prevent targeted attacks, police remained understaffed and underfunded, often leading to unsolved cases. In summary, hosting major sporting events significantly boosts a countries economy however, nations with a troubled history, foster a conducive environment for criminals making visitors feel uncomfortable. Nevertheless, careful planning can mitigate these circumstances.