There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family>

Some people prefer to have small families compared to big family. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family followed by a conclusion. People who stay together in small family are closer and have good bonding. Limited number of family members in a house enables them to communicate and interact effectively. Large number of family members require them to take a longer time to gather because some of them are not available at certain times. Other than that, small family also only need small expenditure for their daily expenses. The current global economic situation encourage people to have small family because they do not need to spend extra money for additional family members. For instance, in Japan, most of the parents only have one or two children only because of high daily expenses. On the other hand, the disadvantage of having a small family is children will feel lonely because they have no siblings to play with. Parents nowadays are busy with their work which makes their children pay less attention. By having siblings, they can spend time together playing and studying at home. They also can share their emotional burden together. Moreover, parents with less children may face a problem when they are getting older. They will end up in old folks home because no one can take care of them. In conclusion, although having a small family makes them more connected and less economic burden, it also brings disadvantage in terms of emotional support among the family members. Adequate numbers of family are subjective and it depends on one's financial and support systems.