Prison is an effective punishment for people who break the law. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime has always been a controversial issue, with different ways suggested to reduce it. In this regard, there is a view that prison offers more effective punishment to law breakers. While I believe that giving a sentence for certain wrongdoings has a more powerful effect in tackling crime, I think that it should not be seen as a universal solution. There are cases in which incarceration is the ultimate punishment to criminals. For example, those who committed serious crime like murder or drug abuse should be kept in prison to ensure public safety. In this case, giving a more lenient penalty may not be enough for wrongdoers to realize their mistake and, therefore, they might enter a life of crime again, increasing recidivism rate. Or at least, this may not serve as an effective deterrent to prospective criminals. However, prison should not be viewed as a solution to all instances of law-breaking for several reasons. Chief among is the fact that an increase in the number of convicts in prison places a heavy burden on government budget, as money is needed for expenses like maintenance, food and clothing to name but a few. In addition, rehabilitation programmes can be a more effective alternative to sentencing. Even after release, many criminals re-offend due to difficulties in finding a job and reintegrating into society. These programs aim at teaching them necessary skills- so that they can enter the workforce effortlessly- and how detrimental their actions are not only to themselves and their family, but also to the society as a whole. Success in mitigating crime has been recorded by some Scandinavian nations, such as Norway and Sweden, after the implementation of this practice. In conclusion, prison plays an essential role in treating individuals who break the law. However, this should be employed based on how severe the crime is, which otherwise the government budget is strained, and the recidivism rate will still be on the rise.