so the question is- Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding the purpose of learning a foreign language. A group of individuals believes that it is only useful for travel and employment in other countries. However, others claim that, apart from these there are multiple reasons why people should know other languages. Therefore, this essay will examine both views and discuss my opinion. Examining the former opinion, the primary argument the supporters would put forward is, languages other than the mother tongue are useful when traveling to various parts of the world because it can make conversations smoother and easier. In addition, they also believe that it can be helpful for people who are working in a sector where they need to deal with the foreign language speaking people. For example, if someone studies or works in Quebec they should know French as most residents speak French only. On the contrary, those in favour of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with not only for professional or tourism purpose but for personal and skill development language plays a vital role. Moreover, in many schools now learning a new language apart from national and international language like English is becoming mandatory. For instance, In India a Spanish language is compulsory in school on top of English and Sanskrit. To sum up, both arguments present valid points, the advantages of able to speak and understand language is more beneficial skill in personal development, thus warranting prioritization.