Many people now use social media as their primary source of news and information. Why has this happened? What problems can it cause for individuals and society?

Nowadays, a lot of people tend to rely on social media as the main source for news and information and one of the biggest reasons is that social media platforms make it easier to find news online. And while it is indeed an easier way, it can make individuals vulnerable to fake news. Members of society heavily depend on social media to find out the latest updates on every topic like sports and politics and what this means is that not many people are still using the classic ways like newspapers and news channels and instead, they use their phones to check everything. For example, back when I was a kid, I would always find my grandmother watching the news, but right now, she doesn’t do it anymore because she can find almost everything with a simple search on Google. One of the biggest issues that this trend causes is that it makes rumours easily accessible. Some creators on social media enjoy spreading fake news because it gives their accounts more impressions and comments. For instance, ever since Twitter started paying their users money based on how many views they get for their posts, main-stream accounts started using fake news to get exposure. To conclude, the public use internet sources to find news and information, and in my opinion, internet is more efficient as a source for news, however, persons should be careful because many accounts spread hearsay to seek views.