: Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Incarceration of individuals rather than focusing on their rehabilitation and adjustment in the society is a debate for very long. In this essay we will focus on whether one should side with imprisonement or education. When we talk about imprisonment it might give a very bleak picture of the person's future. To address that we will talk about how when we hold captive criminals it affects their ability to have a functioning life in the future making it relatively harder to adjust in the society once they are done with their sentencing. In addition to this, punishing also causes a great deal of distress mentally as well as emotionally for eg. constant threat to survival, not having the basic needs met, going through a great deal of turmoil of being away from the family makes this all rather an ineffective way of encouraging an individual to work on themselves. However, on the other end we can encourage these offenders to rather work on themselves and taking their frustration and anger out in healtheir manner. This being said we can provide them educatin for their life after prison and also work on their skill building through trainings. This will ultimately give them a reason to be alive and will also make it easier for them to step in the society. Trainings like carpentry can help them be employed in the future in a wood shop. To conclude this debate, we can agree on the fact that its important for us as a society to also treat offenders as humans and an integral part of the civilisation and to give them a chance to rehabilitate and reflect on their actions for the better.