In some parts of the world, many famous people are regarded as role models and they are having an increasing influence on the young.

In contemporary society, many young people consider celebrities as role models. While some support this admiration, others argue that it may exert a harmful influence on adolescents. This essay will discuss both perspectives before explaining why I personally side with the latter view. On the one hand, setting well-known individuals as an example to follow can offer some distinctive benefits for young generation. Firstly, there are several famous people who have underprivileged and humble backgrounds achieving distinguished success by their relentless effort, passion and perseverance. Such people can be a good example for young people to follow and overcome obstacles in life. For instance, athelete like Serena Willam has emphasized on discipline and passion in the process of reaching her goals, aspired people to consistently follow their dreams. Moreover, many celebrities have taken advantage of their social media accounts to call for assistance to tackle pressing social issues, encouraging the youth to contribute positively to society. On the other hand, youngsters are immature and easily affected by their idols during their growing up as they often mimic their idols to demonstrate their identity and satisfy their ego. Therefore, famous individuals can adversely impact on the young if they engage in controversial behaviors such as gambling or alcohol abuse. In addition, most of them frequently chase flashy, luxious and unhealthy life styles, which emphasize on materialism and consumerism, making the young to feel unsatisfied with their life and tieing their self-esteem to material wealth. In conclusion, having crush on famous people and setting them as role models would benefit the young in terms of passion and perseverance. Howerver, I believe that family, school and educators should teach their children critical evaluation when choosing their role models in order to curb the negative influences.