Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. The importance of environmental protection, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked the controversy over the potential impact in recent years. In my opinion, the former proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate my views for favouring the positive impact of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. Analysing the statement and explaining further, the first and the foremost reason behind this is that politicians have the authority to implement nationwide environmental policies, such as carbon taxes or restrictions on industrial pollution. Another striking benefit in this regard is that governments can allocate budgets and resources to large-scale environmental projects like afforestation, renewable energy, and public transport systems. Categorically discussing, it cannot be ignored that the main reason behind this is that individuals often lack the power, knowledge, or financial capacity to make a significant impact on their own. Probing ahead, one of the main underlying reasons stems from the fact that environmental damage is often caused by industries and corporations that only politicians can regulate. Further, it is pertinent to mention that political decisions, such as signing global climate agreements or enforcing environmental laws, have far-reaching consequences. Moreover, apart from the reasons mentioned above, it can be clearly stated why many are in favour of this trend. Without political will and enforcement, individual efforts such as recycling or reducing plastic use may only have a minimal effect on solving global problems like climate change or biodiversity loss. To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach to a conclusion that the benefits of making environmental protection the responsibility of politicians are indeed too great to ignore.