Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self- employed?

The debate on whether being self-employed or working for a company is better has observed a significant increase over the last decades. Nowadays more and more people choose to employ themselves. Particularly, after the COVID pandemic, this trend has presented a constant rise. There are several reasons why individuals are choosing this path. First and foremost, conventional jobs often require to follow strict schedules, while under this scheme one has much more control of their time. You can choose the timings of your work tasks and deadlines. For example, instead of working for an 8-hour shift, these folks can work 4 hours a day. As a result, they can enjoy a better quality of life, exercise, practice a hobby, or spend time with their family. Furthermore, another reason is that self-employed individuals can establish their monthly income, rather than depending on a prescribed one. Companies set wages from the moment they hire an employee, no matter if their development is excellent, they will receive the same amount. Thus, people are shifting away from these circumstances and are starting to create new models and opportunities for them. Finally, individuals prefer to be self-employed as this modality allows them to become entrepreneurs and explore their creativity. In regular jobs imagination or innovation is not always possible, therefore, sometimes boring and tiring. In this context, people are willing to start their own business or projects to feel independent, valuable, and capable. Nonetheless, it is worth mentioning that self-employment comes along with disadvantages too. One of the most important ones, is that, citizens commonly lack social security. For example, in Mexico, independent consultants have no access to it, unless they seek for it by their own means. In comparison, working for a company or organization represents more stability. Another downside is that these types of jobs are more lonely. Conventional jobs are often associated with work teams, which helps individuals to develop soft skills, communicate better and work better under pressure. This is not the case for self-employed folks, as they usually lack colleagues. Thus, their social abilities can be limited. In conclusion, there is an increase in people choosing to be self-employed instead of working for someone else due to several benefits. Despite of all the good things, this type of work scheme also has some drawbacks.