Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Some say that technology helps people to connect to each other, while others believe that in fact sets us apart. Although the evolution of computers, and consequently the internet, has created spaces where the individual can share their lifestyle and connect with others, I believe that it actually creates a toxic environment that is splitting society into groups instead of creating a sense of community. On the one hand, the use of smartphones and social media has allowed people to connect in real-time with others, making distances shorter and communication faster. Messages that in the past could take months to be delivered, now they can be instantly sent by pressing a single botton. Such change in communication is seen to have a big impact on the way society behaves, and evolves. However, I believe that there are also negative impacts that come with this dependency on the virtual world and social media has become an enemy instead of an ally. On the other hand, the necessity of being part of a group makes the users share their entire lives online to be accepted by a group, resulting in overexposure and consequently being vulnerable to critical comments. The lack of regulation online, in my opinion, is where the problem of modern communication takes place. Anyone can say anything about others on social media, without having any consequences. For example, the singer Kanye West posted on his Twiteer profile that he was anti-semitic, which is a crime in many countries, and nothing happened to him or even with the publication. Cases like this are commonly seen daily on many platforms. Hate discourse, discrimination, violence and bullying are all over the internet and nothing is done to stop it. In conclusion, despite the internet being a facilitator of communication between people, the bad usage of some applications is a considerable threat to society and must be regulated.