The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media is one of the technological advancements in the communication sector. Interaction between people has been shifted through online platforms compared to the traditional ways. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages, follow by conclusion. Nowadays, social media has become a popular medium for people to communicate. Accessibility to internet connection is one of the outstanding reasons for this development. Teenagers especially prefer to talk with their friends through online platforms such as Whatapps Messenger or Instagram. These platforms are more convenient because they do not have to go out to exchange messages. However, this development also has its drawbacks because people tend to be lazy and less physical activities, which eventually poses the risk to their health. The other advantage of having online conversation is the swift delivery of information. Those people who work in multinational company, this would be a preferred communication method. The data or information can be relayed through an email which requires only a few minutes. This is cost effective method will help the companies become more productive and ultimately boost their revenues. But in certain conditions that require two companies to meet each other, such as signing an agreement, the traditional way is much preferred. In conclusion, although the advantages of online interaction outweigh the disadvantages, it is convenient, faster and easily accessible. It also can cause health related issues such as obesity if not practice it in moderation. Finally, face-to-face interaction is still important and cannot be replaced in certain situations.