Some people think that strict punishment for driving offences are the key to reduce accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views.

In today's era, the public have seperate their opinions regarding to traffic safety. Many have said that punishment should be given strictly to shrink road accidents, meanwhile, others believe that other measures would be more favourable in order to achieve a safer driving pace. Both perspectives has reasonable arguements, which shall be discussed further in this essay. To begin with, harsh penalty should be applied to raise awareness and caution for drivers when involve in traffic. Many unfortunate accidents have been driven by reckless driving, red light crossing, and intoxicated being, which furthers to severe consequences, ranging from injuries to fatalities in violators and others. Therefore, if strict regulations are regulated for the law breakers, such as heavy fines or prison period, it would set a clear example for the population. People would pay more attention and drive with care when taking part in traffic, which would results in lower road accident cases. On the other hand, alternative measures are also recommended by many individuals, in addition to strict penalty. First of all, early childhood education of road safety attracts most interest, since children are the most vulnerable group in traffic scenario. Secondly, it is believed that the government should take action in better road map and renovation. Hidden intersection and broken traffic light is also primary cause of confusion in driving. Last but not least, traffic officers can play a vital role in term of maintaining a safe and smooth traffic. To conclude, it is impossible to say only one of the subjects from above can completely solve the road safety problem because all of the points mentioned, are significant and they cannot be separated.