It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

Some students, after graduating from high school, decide to take a year off to do charity work in underdeveloped countries. In this essay, I will explain the advantages and disadvantages of this type of volunteering for young people. Volunteering in underdeveloped countries has become a very common practice among young people. It's usually done before entering university, with the aim of opening them up to new realities and raising their awareness. Although the meaning and motivation is for a good cause, there are pros and cons for young people who decide to make this decision. The greatest advantage for young people who decide to volunteer abroad, is developing a sense of community and humanitarian contribution that can translate into a social commitment later in their studies, in addition to sharing with people from different places and learning about the country's culture. A study by the University of Washington, showed that the majority of young people who did volunteer work, returned to their country with a maturity and awareness of change that gave them a sense of purpose when it came to studying. The disadvantages of this type of work abroad are often financial. Many parents refuse to send their children abroad due to lack of money or because they don't consider it meaningful. Others also suggest that learning from school to university shouldn't be postponed or interrupted, as this can cause them to lose focus on their studies. In conclusion, volunteering abroad offers many advantages, as well as disadvantages. It's important to highlight the importance for adolescents of having an experience where helping others gives them a sense of openness and commitment. Among the disadvantages are the costs and expenses for young people and the delay in their university studies.