Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a negative or positive development?

Without any qualms, it has become very costly to hold marriages as bigger events. The major causes of this trend are maintenance of social status and expression of uniqueness in the wedding by the individuals. This essay believes that it is a positive progress as it is a sole opportunity of social interaction and strengthening of societal bonds and this ceremony serves as an unforgettable day which brings everyone together and closer. The primary reason why weddings are becoming lavish and exorbitant is that people aspire to maintain their status in the society and show the wealth to others. To be more precise, spending lots of money to organise marriage function is the symbol of prosperity in the community. Furthermore, luxurious ceremonies represent uniqueness and bring the couple and their family into limelight. Receiving praise from attendees of the events make them feel contented about arrangements. Also, in recent times, couples try to design and plan their wedding as per their desire which often results in higher expenditure. In my opinion, this practice is a positive development as wedding day is the only day where one can interact with all the relatives and acquaintances in a company. Strengthening of social bonds is ensured as all the known people are invited to the functions. Huge amount of money is spent in order to honour everyone and represent a reputed status in the society. Moreover, sense of community and togetherness is expressed as such events bring everyone together to celebrate the happy time with the family which makes it an unforgettable day. Matrimonial ceremonies are very special due to which family expenses money as reflection of how precious is this day to them. In conclusion, maintaining societal status and expressing unique identity at the causes of this tendency. I believe that it is a positive development as it enhances the interaction and strengthen bonds among people and instills sense of community and togetherness.